An Introduction

dsc01871-2

Hello, all!

My name is Alena Poulin, and I am a journalism student with an outside concentration in anthropology.

I’m a huge bookworm and love to read anything I can get my hands on, but some of my favorites include Paper Towns,” the Harry Potter” series and  “The Handmaid’s Tale.”

To feed my lifelong literary addiction, I also perform Shakespeare outdoors with an organization called Shakespeare in the Park. Furthermore, I enjoy volunteering with the Girl Scouts and with the Florida Museum of Natural History.

In every journalism class I’ve ever taken, they’ve taught me to go over the basics: who, what, when, where, why and how.  I’ve answered the who, but please read on for an answer to the other five questions regarding me and my goals for this blog.

What?

A mix of the personal and professional, posts on this blog will including updates on my academic and professional pursuits, reviews of books I’ve read recently or films I’ve seen and musings about side projects I’ve taken on in an effort to become a more well-rounded individual.

I also run two other blogs here on WordPress, Meals for Multivores and MuseumMaiden, which you can explore by clicking on the links in the sidebar. Each of these blogs focuses respectively on one of my passions: making meat-free meals to share with friends and family and exploring museums. Like this personal blog, MuseumMaiden is a new venture. If you’re interested in checking out the world from my point of view, feel free to browse through some of my photos on Flickr!

When?

The only way to get better is through practice, and that’s part of why I started this blog (not to get ahead of myself, we’ve got two more questions to go before we’re there). I plan on updating this blog as often and regularly as possible. Based on my schedule, that frequency may sometimes differ, but at a minimum, I’ll be posting once a month.

Where?

For starters, I grew up in Orlando, FL, born and raised. But with two parents who attended UF and a mother who was the first Alberta, I was born to be a gator. So that’s where I am now, studying journalism and anthropology at the University of Florida located in the sometimes-sunny-but-often-not city of Gainesville. From hole-in-the-wall pizza joints to world-class museums to pristine nature sanctuaries, I love everything about living in this college town, and it will be the focal point of many of my blog entries.

Why?

As I stated, earlier, practice makes perfect. Through working on this blog, I hope to both improve my craft as a professional communicator and strengthen my own personal writing voice.

How?

The when and the why together make up my how, as through posting regularly on a variety of topics that are of interest to me I will be able to improve my writing skills and voice while also portraying accurately my own personal values and brand.

I hope that you’ve enjoyed this post and feel that you know me a little bit better now, thanks for reading! Feel free to introduce yourself as well in the comments section below!

 

Leave a Reply

